Georgians, together with Abkhazians and Ossetians, want to return to path to EU integration

In 2030 “strong, united” Georgia should become an EU member, together with the Abkhazian, Ossetian brothers, Georgian Prime Minister Irakli Kobakhidze stated on the occasion of the Independence Day that is celebrated on May 26, IPN reports, with reference to

The Head of the Government also pointed out that Georgia was still failing “the most difficult challenges”, but noted that “Georgian society is much more experienced than it was in the first years of the restoration of independence, […] and the country is ruled by the Government, who stands on guard of the sovereignty and independence of Georgia, and protects its national interests.”

Georgian Prime Minister Irakli Kobakhidze on Sunday marked the country’s Independence Day celebrations by saying that “[everyone’s] Georgian dream is to live in a united and strong” Georgia, together with “our Abkhazian and Ossetian brothers and sisters”, and to become a full-fledged member of the European family in 2030 - 40 years after the restoration of the country’s independence [from the USSR].

The official noted that 106 years ago, on May 26,” the state independence of Georgia was restored and the foundation was laid for the first Georgian Republic, which, although, existed only for three years, left us with the most precious legacy of democratic governance”, Kobakhidze noted, while congratulating “every citizen” of the country celebrating the “most important” national holiday.

The PM also congratulated recruits who took “the oath of loyalty to the motherland on this remarkable day” and stressed Georgians “have been faithfully working, fighting and sacrificing themselves” for the independence of the country for 3000 years, adding “at the crossroads of empires, it was this loyalty and self-sacrifice that enabled our small, but proud country to maintain its freedom and state independence”.

In 2021, at a conference with the participation of the President of the European Council Charles Michel held in Batumi, the leaders of the Republic of Moldova, Ukraine and Georgia signed a joint declaration on the development of the Eastern Partnership and the implementation of the Association Agreements of the three countries with the European Union. Currently, the three states have the EU candidate status. Abkhazia and South Ossetia are separatist regions. Most countries recognize them as part of Georgia, while Russia, Venezuela, Nicaragua, Nauru and Syria consider them independent. Similar to the unrecognized Moldovan Nistrean Republic (rmn) on the left bank of the Nistru, the separatist formations in the Caucasus enjoy Russia’s full support.

Вы используете модуль ADS Blocker .
IPN поддерживается от рекламы.
Поддержи свободную прессу!
Некоторые функции могут быть заблокированы, отключите модуль ADS Blocker .
Спасибо за понимание!
Команда IPN.