Sandu Government dismissed

The Cabinet of Ministers led by Prime Minister Maia Sandu has been dissolved today, November 12, at Parliament's plenary. The censure motion submitted by the Socialist Party group was voted by 63 deputies of the PSRM and the Democratic Party. Parliamentarians from the Șor Party group abstained from voting, while those from ACUM bloc voted against. During the examination of the motion of censure, an action was organized in support of Sandu Government in front of the Parliament building, IPN reports.

In the censure motion, submitted by the PSRM, it is mentioned that "the draft law assumed by the Government only sets us back and brings the prosecutor’s office and the judiciary in general at the beck and call of the political class, of some politicians - party chairmen". "November 6, 2019 will remain in the history of justice as the day of the announcement of an offensive against the justice system. On that day we witnessed the annulment, contrary to the law and regulation, of the competition for the selection of candidates for the position of Prosecutor General. And on the same day, the Government assumed responsibility for a draft law which was unconstitutional from the very beginning, a bill that aims to make the future Prosecutor General a puppet in the hands of the Prime Minister to execute political orders and indulge whims,” the motion of censure says.

According to the signatories of the motion, "Sandu Government has demonstrated the total political and professional inability to address the current problems and to stop the deepening of the crisis in all areas of social life". Sandu government is to blame for the failure of the justice reform. The lack of professionalism and responsibility, the damages suffered by the citizens of the Republic of Moldova, the betrayal of national interests, the attempt to politically subordinate the Prosecutor's Office, the flagrant violation of the Constitution, denotes the inability of the prime minister to run a coalition government”, the motion states.

The Socialist Party submitted the censure motion on November 8, as a result of the Government's commitment to amend the Law on the Prosecutor's Office, in the part related to the pre-selection procedure of the Prosecutor General. The bill provided that the prime minister will pre-select at least two candidates for the position of prosecutor general and submit their list and files to the Superior Council of Prosecutors (CSP). The CSP was to elect one of the candidates proposed by the prime minister and forward it to the president of the country.

Previously, a motion of censure was also passed in the case of the Government led by the Liberal Democrat Valeriu Streleț. Then, in October 2015, the Parliament passed a no confidence motion against the Government upon the proposal of the Socialist Party and the Communist Party, with the support of the Democrat MPs, a total of 65 MPs. And the government led by the Liberal Democrat Vlad Filat fell in March 2013, following a censure motion filed by the Communist Party. 54 MPs, including Democrats, Socialists and two unaffiliated MPs, voted to dismiss the Government. Earlier, in 1999, a new parliamentary majority made up of Communists, Christian Democrats and independent MPs detached from the center-right parties voted for the dismissal of Sturza Government, the resignation being also supported by the President of the Republic of Moldova, Petru Lucinschi.

Вы используете модуль ADS Blocker .
IPN поддерживается от рекламы.
Поддержи свободную прессу!
Некоторые функции могут быть заблокированы, отключите модуль ADS Blocker .
Спасибо за понимание!
Команда IPN.