Maia Sandu approves new composition of Supreme Security Council


President Maia Sandu signed the decree by which a new composition of the Supreme Security Council is approved given the necessity to include two new ex officio members based on the results of the snap parliamentary elections of July 11, 2021, IPN reports.

This way, the Council is led by President Maia Sandu, Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces, The ex officio members are: Parliament Speak Igor Grosu; Prime Minister Natalia Gavrilița; head of the Parliament’s commission on national security, defense and public order Lilian Carp; Minister of Defense Anatolie Nosatîi; Minister of the Interior Ana Revenco; director of the Security and Intelligence Service Alexandr Esaulenco; Prosecutor General Dumitru Robu (caretaker) and National Bank governor Octavian Armașu.

Another 11 members were named to the SSC. These are: Deputy Prime Minister for Reintegration Vladislav Kulminski; Deputy Prime Minister Andrei Spînu, Minister of Infrastructure and Regional Development; Deputy Prime Minister Nicolae Popescu, Minister of Foreign Affairs and European Integration; Minister of Justice Sergiu Litvinenco; Minister of Economy Sergiu Gaibu; Minister of Health Ala Nemerenco; head of the Parliament’s legal commission for appointments and immunities Olesea Stamate; secretary general of the Presidential Executive Office Cristina Gherasimov; adviser to the President on economic matters Veaceslav Negruța; National Bank vice governor Vladimir Munteanu, and resigned judged Tatiana Răducanu, head of the Administration Board of the Public Association ”Legal Resources Center”.

The decree says that until the adviser to the President on defense and national security is named, the duties of SSC secretary will be fulfilled by adviser Veaceslav Negruța.

The decree took effect on October 25, when it was signed.