Cabinet agrees to extension of composition of SCM

The Cabinet supported the legislative initiative to extend the composition of the Superior Council of Magistracy (SCM) with two members who will be chosen from among professors at a public contest. This way, the number of members of the Council will increase from 12 to 15, IPN reports.

Currently, three members of the Superior Council of Magistracy are chosen by Parliament from among professors by a majority of votes of MP.

The approved bill stipulates that seven members from among judges will be chosen to the Superior Council of Magistracy by the secret vote of the General Assembly of Judges as follows: four from ordinary courts of law, two from courts of appeal and one from the Supreme Court of Justice. Now the Council includes two judges from each level of courts.

The minister of justice, the prosecutor general and the president of the Supreme Court of Justice are ex-officio members.

Вы используете модуль ADS Blocker .
IPN поддерживается от рекламы.
Поддержи свободную прессу!
Некоторые функции могут быть заблокированы, отключите модуль ADS Blocker .
Спасибо за понимание!
Команда IPN.